Who we are

The Asian-Pacific Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Association (A-PHPBA) was founded in November 2006 with a view to letting Asia- Pacific HPB specialists gather together to share their experiences and ideas, and fostering mutual understanding. Our mission is to promote and enhance the highest standards of the quality of hepato-pancreato-biliary surgery and patient care.


  • To improve education, training, innovation and patient care in the field of HPB
  • To disseminate research findings and best treatment practices
  • To relieve human suffering caused by HPB disorders
  • To improve evidence-based care and optimize the outcomes of patients with HPB disorders throughout the Asia-Pacific region

Past A-PHPBA Congress

1st A-PHPBA 2007
Fukuoka, Japan

2nd A-PHPBA 2009
Bangkok, Thailand

3rd A-PHPBA 2011
Melbourne, Australia

4th A-PHPBA 2013
Shanghai, China

5th A-PHPBA 2015

6th A-PHPBA 2017
Yokohama, Japan

7th A-PHPBA 2019
Seoul, Korea

8th A-PHPBA 2021
Bali, Indonesia


The Council is the governing body of Asian-Pacific Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Association, and represents the professional interests of A-PHPBA's membership. Decisions made by the Council formulate policy and direct the Association in its mission to improve education, training, innovation and patient care in the field of hepato-pancreato-biliary.
The Council consists of the President, Immediate Past President, President Elect, Secretary, Secretary-Elect, Treasurer, Chairman of the Scientific Committee, Congress Chairman, Members- at-Large. There are 17 members of Council who come from different countries of the Asia-Pacific region.
The following COUNCIL MEMBERS (2019-2021) were elected at the General Assembly which was held on 5 Sep 2019 during the Seoul Congress:
2017 - 2019 :

Council Name


Prof Christopher Christophi (Australia)


Prof Krishnakumar Madhavan (Singapore)

Immediate Past-President

Prof Dong Wook Choi (Korea)


Prof Zhi-Yong Huang (China)


Prof Shailesh Shrikhande

Scientific Committee Chairman

Prof Masakazu Yamamoto (Japan)


Prof Kyung-Suk Suh (Korea)

2021 Congress Chairman

Dr Toar Lalisang

Member-At-Large (ANZ)

Dr Tom Wilson

Member-At-Large (China)

Prof Weiping Zhou

Member-At-Large (India)

Dr Sudeep Shah

Member-At-Large (Indonesia)

Dr Adianto Nugroho

Member-At-Large (Japan)

Prof Itaru Endo

Member-At-Large (Korea)

Prof Ki-Hun Kim

Member-At-Large (Malaysia)

Dr Krishnan Raman

Member-At-Large (Singapore)

Dr Winston Woon

Member-At-Large (Thailand)

Dr Sa-ard Treepongkaruna

For more information about A-PHPBA, please visit